Danny Harrelson

Danny Harrelson, of Bruce, has worked at Weyerhaeuser in Bruce for 42 years. He started as a sorter when he was 18-years-old for $3 an hour and now leads what many consider the “heart of the sawmill” – the saw filer team. He’s held that position for the past decade. Read the related story in the features section. Photo by Joel McNeece

Miss Arkansas vists VES

Lillian Patton and Madison Easley watch as Miss Arkansas Claudia Raffo joins Azalea Ewing flossing. After a Q&A session, Raffo visited with and had photos made with each grade during her visit to Vardaman Elementary.

Spelling bee

Calhoun Academy District Spelling Bee participants were, l to r, Novie Gray, Bailey Parker, Dawson Nichols, Layla Bramlitt and Abby Nichols. The Bee was hosted by Columbus Christian Academy in Columbus on December 5. Layla Bramlitt placed third and will advance to the State Spelling Bee later this month. Photo submitted

Randy Skinner

Randy Skinner leads the county’s emergency management efforts and also is the “computer guy” for the school district. His passion for public service stems from his family. He is a third generation county employee and takes great pride in the service of his father and grandfather before him. Read the related story in our features section. Photo by Joel McNeece

Dobbs retirement

Dr. Jim Dobbs was honored with a retirement reception last Friday evening at Calhoun City First Baptist Church fellowship hall. Pictured, staff members, Carron Tedford, Gretchen Purtee, Mary Ann Wilkie, Roxanne Watkins, Dr. Julia Brandon, Dr. Jim Dobbs and Julie Coleman.

Donation to St. Jude

Members of GFWC-Mississippi Federation of Women’s Clubs of Bruce (Fine Arts Club and Twentieth Century) recently went to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital to present a $4,361.43 check and 70 waiting room activity bags. Members also toured the hospital. Standing l to r, Jeanne Cole, Autumn Baker, Frances Brown, Linda Eaton and GFWC-MFWC State President Becky C. Wright. Funds were raised by local clubs joining forces to host the fourth annual Daddy-Daughter Dance benefiting St. Jude. Businesses across the county sponsored the event and Bruce civic clubs made monetary donations to purchase items for activity bags. The bags were assembled by daddies and daughters attending the dance. Items in the bags will serve as a welcome distraction for the patients awaiting treatments. GFWC-MFWC Bruce Fine Arts Juniorettes assisted at the craft table sponsored by the Bruce Arts Council and Juniorette President Mary Alon James served as emcee. The theme of this year’s fundraiser was a Masquerade Ball. The General Federation of Women’s Clubs is an international women’s organization dedicated to community improvement by enhancing the lives of others through volunteer service.

Beckett retires

Shirley Beckett has retired after serving over 30 years as a Medical Lab Technician at Wells’ Medical Clinic with Dr. Willie Wells in Bruce.

Vardaman FCCLA community project

As part of a community service project, Vardaman FCCLA students recently cooked and delivered soup for members in the Vardaman community.  This organization guides students to participate in projects that will improve the quality of life in their community. FCCLA members, from left, front, Shakhodie Armstrong, Community Members Peggy Smith and Melinda Jeffcoats, FCCLA Members Bridgette Hernandez, Addison Earnest, Nora-Blake Parker; back, Sean Galloway, Jacob Watkins, Jayelin Lucius, Haley Beam, Bethany Grace Gordon, Sierra Allred, Hanna Johnson, Tyler Hawkins, Cristal Solis.

New Century

The New Century Club of Calhoun City was recently recognized for their contribution of Christmas lights for all the lamp posts on the interior of the Calhoun City Square. Pictured above with one of the decorated lamp posts are Kim Parker, club president, Carmon Miller, Stephanie Lucius, Kimberly Ruth and Pam Shaw.

Jody’s Dancers

JODY’S DANCERS recently performed their annual Christmas Show at Bruce Community Living Center. First graders pictured dancing are Annsleigh Mallory, Aubree Earnest, Mary Elise Haire and Joley Clark. See more dancers photos inside.                                       Photo by Whitney Bailey